Latest News

Britten’s St. Nicolas December 6 in Halifax

St Nick poster

Benjamin Britten’s Saint Nicolas

Cantata for tenor soloist, choir, boy sopranos, and orchestra

Directed by Nick Halley

Featuring James Kennerley, tenor soloist

Paul Halley, organ

The King’s Chorus

Capella Regalis boys

Orchestra (concertmaster David Greenberg)


Friday, December 6, 2013 at 7:30 p.m.

St Mary’s Cathedral Basilica, 1508 Barrington Street, Halifax

Tickets $10 – $75, available at


Benjamin Britten’s Saint Nicolas cantata brings the legendary 4th century Greek Saint Nicholas, Bishop of Myra, to life. Also known as Nikolaos the Wonderworker, because of the many miracles attributed to him, it is not surprising that Nicolas’s remarkable life served as the model for our modern-day Santa Claus.Britten’s setting is a dramatic one, with music that is as exciting and astonishing as the story itself (with libretto by Britten’s friend, theatre director Eric Crozier). The music calls for multiple choirs, strings, pianos, percussion, and pipe organ, all placed throughout the building…and two audience participatory hymns thrown in for good measure.

This concert commemorates both the day of Saint Nicolas (December 6th) and the centenary of Benjamin Britten’s birth. The first half of the concert features music ranging from the stark O Immanuel of contemporary Estonian composer Arvo Pärt, to J.S. Bach’s powerful cantata Nun komm der Heiden Heiland.

Weekly music at the University of King’s College Chapel

You can see Nick’s Capella Regalis men and boys choir, the Compline Choir, and the University of King’s College Chapel Choir in action on any of the following days during term…


In short:

Tuesdays at 5pm: Capella Regalis Evensong

Tuesdays at 9:30pm: candlelit Compline service

Wednesdays at 5pm: The University of King’s College Chapel Choir Evensong service

Thursdays at 5pm: The University of King’s College Chapel Choir Eucharist service

All services take place at 6350 Coburg Road, Halifax in the King’s College Chapel


Click on the link for a full schedule and music list: Chapel Music Card – Michaelmas 2013

Nick’s CBC Radio 2 Choral Concert update

This week on Choral Concert, tune in to hear the great choral masters from the Renaissance along with other musical gems.

Nick is now the host of CBC Radio 2’s Choral Concert which airs nationally every Sunday 9-10am.  It can be streamed here on Did you know? If you sleep in and miss it at 9am AT, you can listen in to other time zones!